Food – Rigatoni with Vodka Sauce

Food – Rigatoni with Vodka Sauce

image
Topped with fresh basil. Oh so good!

Hi friends! Looking for a carb-hearty dinner? I made rigatoni with vodka sauce, garlic bread, and salad for Sunday dinner last weekend. With some nice red wine, this dinner was on point! This was a much healthier version of vodka sauce compared to the usual super creamy kind I love. I have to say, it was a nice change!

Ingredients:

1 lb penne pasta, cooked
1⁄4 cup extra virgin olive oil
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon crushed red chili pepper flakes
1 teaspoon chili pepper
1 28oz can crushed Italian style tomatoes
1 onion, chopped
1⁄2 cup good vodka
1⁄2 cup heavy whipping cream
1⁄4 cup chopped fresh basil
10oz hot Italian sausage
Salt and pepper to taste
1/2 cup sun dried tomatoes

Directions:

Cook pasta according to directions on the package.
In large skillet, heat oil.
Add onions, garlic, dried tomatoes and red chili flakes & chili pepper to and cook, stirring until garlic and onion are golden brown.
Add tomatoes and salt and pepper.
Bring to a boil.
Reduce heat and simmer 30 minute.
Add vodka and cream.
Simmer 30 more minutes.
Add the drained pasta to the sauce.
Top with fresh chopped basil.

Hope you enjoy! 🙂

Follow me on instagram: gracemeetsglam

Xoxo,

Sarah

9 thoughts on “Food – Rigatoni with Vodka Sauce

      1. I showed this to my trainer, who is now having a small panic attack. Such fun. I’ve already ordered some gluten free pasta on Amazon so I’m counting the days. Thank you for giving me a reason to have vodka. xo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am so excited for you and your future pasta dish! Thankfully my trainer is forgiving because I have these moments in my kitchen way too often. *gasp* Have a wonderful day! Xo

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment